

Galaxies Étoiles Physique et Instrumentation

Catherine TURON

22 November 2006

tél. : (33-1) 45 07 78 37 fax : (33-1) 45 07 78 78

e-mail: catherine.turon@obspm.fr

to

Professor H. INOUE Executive Director, JAXA/ISAS 3-1-1 Yoshinodai Sagamihara KANAGAWA, 229-8510 Japan

Dear Professor Inoue,

On behalf of the Astronomy Working Group (AWG), the part of the European Space Agency's scientific advisory structure which represents the astronomical community within ESA, I would like to offer you our warmest congratulations on the ongoing success of the Akari mission. The AWG has been following the progress of Akari with great interest ever since we recommended in 2000 that ESA should enter into collaboration with ISAS on this exciting infrared sky survey, which in addition to its enormous intrinsic scientific value will also benefit our Planck and Herschel missions. At our September 2006 meeting, we enjoyed seeing the initial images of IC4954 and IC1396, as well as hearing that European Open Time observations had started.

The AWG has also been following with interest the progress of the Suzaku mission since its launch in 2005. Thanks to the opportunity offered by JAXA the European astronomical community has access to 8% of the observing time. European astronomers have already obtained observations of a wide variety of astrophysical sources in AO-1 making successful use of Suzaku's unique capabilities, and are currently busy preparing their responses to the 2nd Announcement of Opportunity.

The AWG would like to warmly thank JAXA for the very fair way in which European Open Time observations have been treated in the light of changing lifetime estimates of Akari, as well as for the opportunity offered by giving us access to observing time on the successful Suzaku mission.

We send you and your teams our very best wishes for the successful continuation of Akari and Suzaku, and look forward to the scientific harvest still to come from them. We also look forward to future collaboration opportunities between ESA and JAXA.

Best regards, Catherine Turon, Chair, ESA Astronomy Working Group

cc: Prof. D. Southwood, Director of Science, ESA, 8-10 rue Mario-Nikis, 75738 PARIS cedex 15