content 11-December-2018 10:56:38

International Lunar Exploration Working Group (ILEWG)

What is ILEWG?

The International Lunar Exploration Working Group (ILEWG) is a public forum sponsored by the world's space agencies to support "international cooperation towards a world strategy for the exploration and utilization of the Moon - our natural satellite" (International Lunar Workshop, Beatenberg (CH), June 1994).

The Forum is intended to serve three relevant groups:

  1. actual members of the ILEWG, ie delegates and representatives of the participating Space Agencies and organizations - allowing them to discuss and possibly harmonize their draft concepts and plans in the spirit of the Beatenberg Declaration
  2. team members of the relevant space projects - allowing them to coordinate their internal work according to the guidelines provided by the Charter of the ILEWG
  3. members of the general public and of the Lunar Explorer's Society who are interested and wish to be informed on the progress of the Moon projects and possibly contribute their own ideas

The ILEWG Forum also hosts the Lunar Explorer's Society.

Besides the Discussion Forums themselves, users can also obtain information on how to participate, as well as details on the latest news and events regarding lunar exploration, forthcoming meetings, relevant reports and documents of importance for the work of the ILEWG, summary descriptions of current lunar exploration projects (such as SMART-1, Chang'E1 , Selene, Chandrayaan-1, LRO, LCROSS) funded by various space agencies, and basic data on the Moon itself. Activities of the related space agencies and organizations can also be found. The Discussion Forums and part of the information is sponsored by the European Space Agency, whilst some, including the Lunar Explorers Register, is provided in the complementary ILEWG Home Page which is being maintained by NASA.


ILEWG Executive Director Prof Bernard Foing
(Past-President 1998-2000)
ILEWG Vice-president (2016-) Prof Tai Sik Lee
ILEWG Vice-president (2010-) Prof Jacques Blamont
ILEWG Past-President (2008-2010) Dr Michael Wargo
ILEWG Past-President (2006-2008) Prof Wu Ji
ILEWG Past-President (2004-2006) Prof Narendra Bhandari
ILEWG Vice-President (2006-2008) Dr Simonetta di Pippo
ILEWG Vice-President (2005-2007) Dr Robert Richards


Phone: +31-71-565 5647 -- Fax: +31-71-565 4697
Mail address: ILEWG c/o BH Foing, ESTEC
PO Box 299, 2200 AG Noordwijk, The Netherlands

Last Update: 26 October 2017

For further information please contact: