Science & Technology

Dear Colleague,

The Fundamental Physics Roadmap Advisory Team (FPR-AT) is pleased to invite you to the

FUNDAMENTAL PHYSICS ROADMAP WORKSHOP 21-22 January 2010 ESTEC, Room Newton Keplerlaan 1, Noordwijk - The Netherlands

The FPR-AT has been assembled by the European Space Agency in order to draw a recommendation on the scientific and technological roadmap necessary to lead Europe toward the realization of future space missions in the framework of the Cosmic Vision 2015-2025 plan in the field of fundamental physics. The following scientific domains will be covered:

- Tests of fundamental laws and principles, e.g. equivalence principle, constancy of fundamental constants, inverse square gravitational law;
- Detection and study of gravitational waves;
- Quantum mechanics in a clean environment;
- Cold atom physics, new frequency standards, and quantum technologies;
- The fundamental physics of dark energy and dark matter;
- Space-based efforts in astroparticles: high energy cosmic particles, antimatter, etc.

A draft of the roadmap document will be made available by the FPR-AT in the fall of 2009; this document will be publicly presented and finalized together with the scientific community on the occasion of the *FUNDAMENTAL PHYSICS ROADMAP* **WORKSHOP**. The event will provide the participants with a forum to discuss science goals and technologies relevant for conducting fundamental physics studies in space.

A dedicated webpage, reachable from the FPR-AT website (http://sci.esa.int/fprat), will be put in place to announce the programme, allow for registration, and provide further details on the event organization. The workshop will be free of charge.

For the time being...**please, book the dates in your agenda**. Further details will follow.

The FPR-AT members are looking forward to meeting you in ESTEC.

Kind regards,

Pierre Binetruy (Chair)	Astroparticule et Cosmologie, France
Luigi Cacciapuoti (Secretary)	ESA, The Netherlands
Philippe Bouyer	Institut d'Optique, France
Mike Cruise	University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
Luciano Iess	Università "La Sapienza", Italy
Gijs Nelemans	Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Science & Technology

Ernst Rasel Stephan Schiller Wolfgang Schleich Alicia Sintes Alan Watson William Weber Peter Wolf Universität Hannover, Germany Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Germany Universität Ulm, Germany Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain University of Leeds, United Kingdom Università di Trento, Italy Observatoire de Paris, France

Science Programme European Space Agency