Asset Publisher

Jupiter's Galilean Satellites

Jupiter's Galilean Satellites

Depicts: Io, Europa, Callisto, Ganymede, Jupiter
Copyright: K. Noll (STScI), J. Spencer (Lowell Observatory), and NASA

This is a Hubble Space Telescope "family portrait" of the four largest moons of Jupiter, first observed by the Italian scientist Galileo Galilei nearly four centuries ago.

Located approximately one-half billion miles away, the moons are so small that, in visible light, they appear as fuzzy disks in the largest ground-based telescopes. Hubble can resolve surface details seen previously only by the Voyager spacecraft in the early 1980s.

Last Update: 1 September 2019
23-Feb-2024 23:02 UT

ShortUrl Portlet

Shortcut URL

Also Available As

Related Images

Related Videos

Caption & Press Release

Related Publications

Related Links

See Also