Asset Publisher

The Herschel Science Team

The Herschel Science Team

Date: 27 April 2005
Satellite: Herschel
Location: European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC), Noordwijk, the Netherlands
Copyright: ESA

The Herschel Science Team has as its overall objective to safeguard the scientific interests of the Herschel mission.

The Science Team was formed in 1998 and the first meeting was held in December 1998. Its composition is derived from ESA, the instrument consortia, and a number of Mission Scientists representing the astronomical community 'at large'. In 2001 the Herschel Optical System Scientist was added. It is chaired by the Herschel Project Scientist.

During Herschel Science Team meeting #22 on 27 April 2005 the team went to see the Herschel service module (SVM) structural thermal model (STM) in the ESTEC Test Centre where it had arrived just a few days before.

In the picture, from left to right: Tom Phillips, Hal Yorke, Pierre Encrenaz, Paul Harvey, Martin Harwit, Matt Griffin, Göran Pilbratt, Christoffel Waelkens, José Cernicharo, Albrecht Poglitsch, Jacqueline Fischer, Peter Barthel, and Thijs de Graauw. Missing in the picture Gerry Crone and Laurent Vigroux.

The current composition of the Herschel Science Team can be found here.


Last Update: 1 September 2019
24-May-2024 12:51 UT

ShortUrl Portlet

Shortcut URL

Also Available As

Related Images

Related Videos

Related Publications

Related Links

See Also