Asset Publisher

Earth's Magnetosphere

Earth's Magnetosphere

Date: 12 December 2004
Satellite: Cluster
Depicts: Diagram of Earth's magnetosphere with Cluster orbit
Copyright: ESA

At the nightside of the Earth, the magnetospheric tail is composed of three main regions:

  • A "plasma sheet" centred on the equator, with a weak magnetic field and a typical density of ~0.5 particles per cc
  • Two tail lobes regions located north and south of the plasma sheet with a very low density of ~0.01 particles per cc but with a more intense magnetic field.


Last Update: 1 September 2019
23-Feb-2024 00:04 UT

ShortUrl Portlet

Shortcut URL

Also Available As

Related Images

Related Videos

Related Publications

Related Links