Asset Publisher

Exoplanet Roadmap Advisory Team <br>(EPR-AT)

Exoplanet Roadmap Advisory Team

This page has been archived and is no longer updated.
The Exoplanet Roadmap Advisory Team was disbanded following the conclusion of their activities.

This page collates material related to the Exoplanet Roadmap Advisory Team (EPR-AT) and the call for White Papers.



Latest update: 28 October 2010 - final roadmap available
The final version of A European Roadmap for Exoplanets is now available to download. See link under Related Publications in the right-hand menu.

The EPR-AT is an expert advisory team appointed by ESA, in 2008, with the purpose of advising the Agency on the best scientific and technological roadmap to pursue in order to address one of the most exciting goals in modern astrophysics: the characterization of terrestrial exoplanets (up to the possible detection of biomarkers).  See article "Formation of EPR Advisory Team".

The EPR-AT consulted with the scientific community in the process of preparing the roadmap. The first step in this consultation process was the Call for White Papers (see article on "Call for White Papers for EPR-AT").  The White Papers were evaluated and used by the EPR-AT in the preparation of a draft document "A Roadmap for Exoplanets". This document was discussed at a dedicated workshop held 7-8 April at University College London (see link to EPR-AT Workshop in right-hand menu).

The final version of the roadmap, entitled "A European Roadmap for Exoplanets" was delivered to ESA, and published in October 2010. 

Schedule of activities (updated October 2010)

End-May 2008: ESA issues Call for White Papers
30 July 2008 (12:00 CEST): Deadline for submission of White Papers
March 2010: EPR-AT circulates draft roadmap to the scientific community
April 2010: Workshop at which EPR-AT presents draft roadmap report to community and solicits feedback
May 2010: Final roadmap report is delivered to ESA
October 2010: Final roadmap report released to the scientific community


 The members of the Exoplanet Roadmap Advisory Team are:

Artie Hatzes, (Chair), Thuringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg, Germany
Malcolm Fridlund, (Secretary), ESA
Anja C. Andersen, Dark Cosmology Center, Copenhagen, Denmark
Anthony Boccaletti, Observatoire de Meudon, France
Rudolf Dvorak, Institute for Astronomy, University of Vienna, Austria
Giusi Micela, INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Palermo, Italy
Alessandro Morbidelli, Observatoire de la Cote d'Azur, France
Andreas Quirrenbach, ZAH, Landessternwarte, Germany
Heike Rauer, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany
Franck Selsis, Laboratoire d'Astrophysique de Bordeaux (LAB), France
Giovanna Tinetti, University College London, UK
Stephane Udry, Université de Genève, Switzerland

For further details please contact:
Dr. Fabio Favata
Head of ESA Science Planning and Community Coordination Office

Last Update: 1 September 2019
22-Apr-2024 06:10 UT

ShortUrl Portlet

Shortcut URL

Images And Videos

Related Links