Asset Publisher

SOHO images showing the solar storm

SOHO images showing the solar storm


Copyright: SOHO/LASCO (ESA & NASA)

(Left ) A Coronal Mass Ejection erupted from the Sun at 17:00 GMT (18:00 CET) on 4 November.

(Centre) Travelling at almost the speed of light, high energy protons arrived at SOHO at 18:37 GMT (19:37 CET), causing a 'snowstorm' on the spacecraft's imaging instruments.

(Right) By 6 November the number of incoming protons had significantly decreased.

This sequence of images was extracted from a time-lapse movie of observations from the SOHO/LASCO instrument.

Last Update: 1 September 2019
8-Feb-2023 05:02 UT

ShortUrl Portlet

Shortcut URL

https://sci.esa.int/s/8DjMZXw

Also Available As

Related Images

Related Videos

Related Publications

Related Links

See Also

Documentation