Asset Publisher

Descent to the surface of a comet

Descent to the surface of a comet


Date: 12 November 2014
Satellite: Rosetta
Copyright: See below

Rosetta’s OSIRIS narrow-angle camera witnessed Philae’s descent to the surface of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko yesterday. This animated gif comprises images captured between 10:24 and 14:24 GMT (onboard spacecraft time). More images showing Philae closer to the surface are still to be downloaded.

Separation occurred onboard the spacecraft at 08:35 GMT (09:35 CET), with the confirmation signal arriving on Earth at 09:03 GMT (10:03 CET). The signal confirming landing arrived on Earth at 16:03 GMT (17:03 CET).

Credit: ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

Last Update: 1 September 2019
29-Nov-2021 00:31 UT

ShortUrl Portlet

Shortcut URL

https://sci.esa.int/s/AjG3Enw

Also Available As

Related Images

Related Videos

Related Publications

Related Links

See Also

Documentation

Further Readings